Thursday, December 22, 2005

Redfern Elected New Ohio Dem Chairman

Ohio House Democratic Leader Chris Redfern of Catawba Island was handily elected the new Ohio Democratic Chairman on Monday night. Redfern collected 88 votes to Dayton Democratic Party Chairman Dennis Lieberman's 31 votes. A delay in the vote occurred to determine how the process should proceed but in the end Redern won overwhelmingly.
Hamilton County Democratic Chairman Tim Burke was given a note by Jerry Springer to read at the meeting, announcing his intent not to run for Ohio Governor next year. But the meeting was quickly adjourned and Springer had to release the announcement via e-mail to Ohio media outlets.
Chris Redern's election was to serve the remainder of former Chairman Denny White's term, who resigned as Ohio Democratic Chairman effective November 23. Another election for a full term will occur next spring or summer of '06.


Post a Comment

<< Home